Conference Aim

The EPDE conference will bring together representatives from education and industry who have an interest in shaping the future of design education. The conference will provide a forum for educators and researchers from product development, engineering and industrial design, together with industry and government representatives to discuss current educational issues and the nature of design education in the future. This year’s conference theme of Shaping the Future? will provide the opportunity for participants to exchange ideas and build collaborative relationships.


While Shaping the Future? may be understood in multiple ways, and we encourage varied interpretations of the theme, questions that might be explored include: What are the possibilities for design education? What and whose concerns are shaping design education at present? How are educators shaping future designers? How does design shape the future? Potential futures for design research? These questions will be explored in the following conference topics:


  • Design and local community
  • Design and government
  • Teaching tools and techniques
  • Developing links with industry
  • Design curriculum development
  • Philosophies of design education
  • Professional development in design
  • Cross-disciplinary projects
  • Work-based learning
  • Future industry needs
  • Learning environments
  • Industry based student projects
  • Assessment
  • Professional doctorates
  • ‘New’ knowledges for design
  • Design manifestos

In keeping with the inclusive ethos of the EPDE conference other stream proposals are welcomed. It is also envisaged that participation in the conference may take a number of forms:

  • Paper and poster presentations
  • Roundtable discussions
  • Exhibition
  • Workshops


Conference Organising Committee

< Top of page

Erik Bohemia, Northumbria University
Anna Clark, Institution of Engineering Designers
Mike Evatt, Coventry University
Bill Ion, DESIG (Design Education Special Interest Group)
Safwat Mansi, Northumbria University
Chris McMahon, Design Society
Tracey Urwin, Northumbria University
Bob Young, Northumbria University



International Scientific Review Board

< Top of page

Petra Badke-Schaub TU Delft, The Netherlands
Per Boelskifte Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Ralph Bruder University of Technology Darmstadt, Germany
Louis L. Bucciarelli Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Bernhard Bürdek Hochschule fur Gestaltung, Germany
Kathryn Burns University of Central England, UK
Peter Childs University of Sussex, UK
Joseph D. Chiodo Active Disassembly Research Ltd, Canada
Chris Dowlen London South Bank University, UK
Josef Eberhardsteiner Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Kevin Edwards University of Derby, UK
Ken Friedman Danmarks Designskole, Denmark
Richard Goossens TU Delft, The Netherlands
Lance Green University of New South Wales, Australia
B. Gurumoorthy Indian Institute of Science, India
Kerry Harman University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Kevin Hilton Northumbria University, UK
Carlos Hinrichsen School of Design DuocUC, Chile
Tania Humphries-Smith University of Bournemouth, UK
Duncan Joiner Massey University, New Zealand
Toni-Matti Karjalainen Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
Tim Katz University of Brighton, UK
Yong Se Kim Creative Design Institute, Korea
Darlie Koshy National Institute of Design, India
Ahmed Kovacevic City University, UK
Kristina Lauche Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Kun-Pyo Lee Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Miika Lehtonen University of Lapland, Finland
Joaquim Lloveras Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Peter Lloyd The Open University, UK
Harold G. Nelson Advanced Design Institute, USA
Tom Page Loughborough University, UK
Alun Price Curriculum Council, Australia
Steven Riley University of Western Sydney, Australia
Ryszard Rohatynski University of Zielona Góra, Poland
Chris Rust Sheffield Hallam University, UK
John K. Tan Northumbria University, UK
Alfred Teischinger University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Austria
Ken Wallace University of Cambridge, UK
Roy Woodhead Oxford Brookes University, UK
Joyce Yee Northumbria University, UK

Leave a Reply